In 1933, most people are focused on the Great Depression but all Piper Danson can think about is how to get out of being a debutante and marrying Braxton Crandall In an act of defiance, Piper volunteers as a frontier nursing courier in the Appalachian Mountains where adventure awaits.

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love Well, second, if you count her faith and that s where things may get complicated n nManhattan Beach native Lovette has two rules in life One no surfing Not after her

In the fine tradition established by her Southern grandmama, Aurora Daughtry has recently orchestrated the marriage of her eldest sister and facilitated her middle sister s engagement She also rejoices in her part in transforming the family s dilapidated plantation manor into a luxurious and lucrat